Historic Preservation Board


  • 4:00 pm
  • City Hall, 110 Main St.


Agendas are available online.
2021 Agendas | 2020 Agendas | 2019 Agendas | 2018 Agendas2017 Agendas | 2016 Agendas |2015 Agendas | 2014 Agendas | 2013 Agendas | 2012 Agendas | 2011 Agendas

Current Voting Members
Term Ends
August 11, 2024
Debby D'Amico August 11. 2024
Michael Schmeeckle (Vice Chair)
August 11, 2024
Sonya Thornton August 11, 2022 
Don Ostwald August 11, 2022
Alyse Campbell (Chair) August 11, 2022
Vicki Foy August 11, 2023 
Barbara Keenan August 11, 2023
Vacant August 11, 2023

Current Non-Voting Advisors: Sandy Engle (Economic Development Specialist / City Advisor), City Manager or Designee (Board Secretary) and Lyn Deal (Mayor / Council Liaison)

The Historic Preservation Board was established by Ordinance No. 1089 as approved by City Council on November 17, 2009. There have since been two revised ordinances amending Chapter 2, Article 9, Section 2-9-10 of the Municipal Code of the City of Fort Morgan, Colorado. On September 4, 2018, Ordinance No. 1219 was approved, followed by approval of Ordinance No. 1246 on September 15, 2020, which was to make necessary changes for the City of Fort Morgan to become a Certified Local Government (CLG) with History Colorado.

The Board consists of at least five (5) members, but not more than nine (9) members who serve three-year staggered terms. Members must reside (or own real property) within the City limits. Regular meetings may be held as needed, but at least quarterly, on the second Thursday of each month. 

The principal responsibility of the Board is for matters of historical preservation of historic sites and districts within the municipal boundaries of the City. The Board advises and makes recommendations to City Council on those matters pertinent to the Board's duties. A Councilmember serves as a non-voting liaison to the Board.

If questions arise or further information is needed, please contact Economic Development Specialist Sandy Engle by email or phone at (970) 542-3924.